Nerdalert!

9 Nov

Today I did NaNo during the weekly writing practice at the local Carnegie Center For Literacy and Learning. As my good friend Bronson mentioned in his blog post, I provided the “peer pressure” to get him to do his NaNo novel during this time as well. Not a whole lot happened with my piece, but I got some nice insight into what Bronson is doing with his story, and I’m intrigued. It’s going to be good, and I’m already picturing the end of this month where I snooker him into reading each other’s novels – and he has to read both parts of mine, 100,000 words, because that’s the way our agreement always works out, I make him read twice as much as what he gives me.

Well, this is kinda rambly, so I thought I’d totally call Bronson out. I’m thinking mashup. Bronson’s novel is about death, love, and another thing (betrayal?), with ghosts and (probably unrequited) love. My novel is pulp sci-fi, a vision of a corporate government that enslaves the populace with drugs to make them work, and sends them to secret prison camps when they get out of line.

But I can’t come up with anything better than the picture below, which I’m sure makes Bronson and me both happy, so – goodnight!

2 Responses to “Nerdalert!”

  1. bronsonoquinn November 11, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    Now if you’re telling me your story has Ghost Rider and Rocket Raccoon? Dude, spoiler alert!

    But seriously, I have no problem reading all 100,000 words of this epic sci-fi narrative. I think your sales pitch up above gave me a better idea of what’s happening then your detailed explanation at writing practice.

    And I didn’t realize we could give shout-outs on this thing, otherwise I would’ve mentioned you on day 1!

    • roscenco November 12, 2012 at 12:01 am #

      I have not yet begun to spoil! I just came up with some totally batshit stuff today and have no idea where it came from or what I can do with it!

Leave a Reply

